Vishwakarma Ainthozilalargal Sangam

Please enter the code:

Note: Please fill out the fields marked with an asterisk.





Viśhwákarma community or caste, known within the group as the Viswabrahmin, (Viswakarma Brahmin) is an Indian caste which includes five sub-castes: carpenters, blacksmiths, coppersmiths, goldsmiths and sculptors who are described as descendants of the five sons of god Vishwakarma.


Vishwakarmas are descended from five sons of lord Viswakarma.



They are as follows :-




1.Manu            [Manu Brahma is Siva] 
2.Maya             [Maya Brahma is Vishnu]
3.Twastha        [Tvashta Brahma is Brahma]
4.Shilpi             [Shilpi   [Brahma is Indra]
5.Vishvajna      [Vishvanjna Brahma is Surya]


Manu Brahma is Blacksmith and Rigvedi

Maya Brahma is Carpenter and Yajurvedi

Tvashta Brahma is Coppersmith and Samavedi

Shilpi Brahma is Sculptors and Atharvavedi

Vishvanjana is Goldsmith and Pranavavedi

Each one of them are born from the Different face of
Virat Vishwakarma

Vishvabrahmins are divided into five Gotras or clans,

each Rishi's name is mentioned in the Yajurveda (4.3.3)


1)Sanaga       [Son of Manu > Shiva]
2)Sanatana   [Son of Maya > Vishnu]
3)Abhuvana  [Son of Tvashtha > Brahma of four faces]
4)Pratnasa    [Son of Silpi > Indra]
5)Suparna     [Son of Vishvajna > Surya]


They worship various forms of the deity and follow five vedas: Rigveda, Yajurveda, Samaveda, Atharvaveda, Pranava Veda.

According to traditional belief; Vishwakarma community elders say that five sons(Five moola rishis of vishwakarma caste or community) Manu, Maya, Thvasta, Silpy and Vishwajnya were born from the five faces of the god Vishwakarma; and these five moola rishis had five sons Sanaga, Sanātana, Abhūvana, Pratnasa and Suparņasa are the rishi or gotrakara (founders of gotra) of the community. These five rishis were mentioned in Yajur Veda Taittiriya Samhita.

These five gotras further divided in to 125 upagotras including the five moola rishi gotras.And these 125 rishis or gotras; are five moola rishis Sanaga, Sanatana, Abhunasa, Pratnasa, Suparnasa and their grandsons.

The Vishwakarma are largely found in the South India: Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Goa and Konkan. In Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, and Gujarat.Other Indian Vishwakarma populations are in: Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Bengal, Delhi, Haryana, Bihar, and Orissa.

Vishwakarma’s are also found in Sri Lanka, some elders of this caste believe that Sri Lankan king Raavana belongs to Vishwakarma caste.


Kerala Vishwakarmas of Kerala are also known as Achary, Moosari or Viswa Brahmanar.

In Tamil Nadu most of the Vishwakarmas are goldsmiths, generally people call them as Achari or Asari and some as kammalars .

The Vishwakarma caste of south Karnataka, is composed of several sub-castes: Kulachar, Shiv Achar, Matachar , Muddekammaras, and Chikkamanes.

Particularly in Karnataka most of these sub-castes do not intermarry and have a hierarchy among themselves.

These subcastes are varied according to various states and regions in India. But all worship the god Vishwakarma and goddess Kalika devi.